The Commission consists of a Board of Commissioners and a Secretariat

Board of Commissioners

The Commissioners, (otherwise known as Members of the Commission) are appointed by the President for a term of three years renewable. In terms of section 2(1) of the Law Reform Commission Act 1994 as amended, the membership of the Commission consists as follows:

  • Chairman, who is a person qualified to hold the highest judicial office; 
  • A Judge of the superior Judicature nominated by the Chief Justice; 
  • A Representative of the Attorney General and Minister of Justice;
  • Two Representatives of the Sierra Leone Bar Association;
  • The Director of the Sierra Law School; and
  • A Representative of the Faculty of Law, University of Sierra Leone 

The Secretariat 

The Commission is serviced by a full-time Secretariat consisting of officials employed by the Commission. The Commission’s substantive, professional and administrative work is carried out by the Secretariat, headed by a Secretary, who shall be a legal practitioner of at least five years standing at the Bar. The Secretary has the responsibility for the day-to-day administration of the affairs of the Commission and monitors/supervises/ oversees the work of all Staff employed by the Commission. The Secretariat consists of a research component, drafting and an administrative component

  • The Administrative and Accounts component

The Administrative and Accounts component which is the main support unit of the Commission has responsibility for maintaining sound and efficient management of financial records, internal controls; facilitating internal and external audits; undertaking expenditure controls and facilitating procurement, overall records management, human resource, fleet, stores and asset management.

The Administrative and Accounts component of the Secretariat comprises of an Accountant, Accounts Assistant, an Administrative Officer, IT Officer, PA to the Secretary, PA to the Chairman, Secretaries/Typists, Store Keeper, Office Assistants and Drivers.

  • Research component 

The Research component is the professional and technical component of the Commission. It consists of a Director of Research, Legal Counsels, Principal Legal Researchers, and Legal Researcher Officials. Headed by a Director of Research the research component is responsible for the planning, development, and implementation of technical programmes relating to the functions of the Commission; conducting research and proposing areas for reforms, servicing of working Groups and Sub-Committees established by the Commission; collaborating and/or liaises with Ministries, Departments and Agencies, the Parliament, Non-governmental organisations and entities, local and international partners and other key stakeholders in the implementation of the Government of Sierra Leone’s strategic priorities.

  • Drafting component 

The drafting component consists of a Draftsperson and an Assistant Draftsperson. Their tasks include drafting Commission’s review recommendations, making recommendations for codification of laws and repeal of obsolete laws, keeping the Commission abreast with all legislation that have been tabled before parliament.